The Government has been continuously improving the Hong Kong Slope Safety System and formulated strategies to prepare for the threat of extreme rainfall brought about by climate change, which covers three aspects viz prevention, preparedness and education. Key measures include:

Planning AheadExpand

Strengthening slopes against extreme rainfall to prevent landslides

The GEO implements the Landslip Prevention and Mitigation Programme (LPMitP) to manage the landslide risk of both natural hillside and man-made slopes in a holistic manner. Under the LPMitP, the Government's pledged annual outputs are:

  1. to upgrade 150 man-made slopes;
  2. to conduct safety-screening studies on 100 private man-made slopes; and
  3. to construct mitigation measures for 30 vulnerable natural hillside catchments each year.

The GEO also endeavors to enhance the prevailing slope engineering design standard and preventive measures to strengthen the slopes against extreme rainfall events, in order to reduce the probability of occurrence of severe landslides. These measures include:

  1. enhancement of slope drainage design standard and improvement of slope surface drainage system to cater for the possible increase in precipitation due to extreme rainfall events;
  2. use of soil nails to enhance the robustness of slope;
  3. construction of flexible and rigid barriers to contain debris flow and thus minimising the impact to adjacent facilities;
  4. use of unmanned aerial hydroseeding technique to revegetate landslide scars on natural hillside as well as identification of landslides on aerial photographs using artificial intelligence in order to enhance the effectiveness of evaluating landslide risk; and
  5. use of innovative technology to regulate the regional groundwater.
Improvement of Slope Surface Drainage System
Soil Nailing
Construction of Rigid Barriers
Construction of Flexible Barriers
Po Shan Drainage Tunnel
Enhancing Emergency PreparednessExpand

Enhancing emergency preparedness and response to cope with severe landslide events

From technical viewpoint, the forecast of climate change effects bears many uncertainties. It is not practical to rely solely on engineering solutions in managing the landslide risk brought about by extreme rainfall events. Enhancing the Government emergency preparedness and response is equally important.

The GEO provides a 24-hour year-round landslide emergency service. Geotechnical engineers will be deployed to inspect the site and advise various departments on appropriate mitigation measures or emergency works to be taken in case of danger arising from landslides, thereby ascertaining public safety. Besides, the Government regularly conducts training events and operational drills to ensure adequacy and effectiveness of the emergency response system. The GEO has also introduced virtual reality trainings to empower the geotechnical engineers in dealing with severe landslide incidents.

The Government proactively make use of new technology to enhance emergency preparedness and response. The GEO has developed and put on trial a novel landslide detection system "Smart Barrier", applying modern information technology for monitoring the condition of landslide debris-resisting barriers. Many barriers are located at natural stream course or hillside, where accumulation of landslide debris behind the barriers may easily go unnoticed. The "Smart Barrier" allows all-weathered and non-stop monitoring of the barriers' conditions and provides alerts via mobile application in the event of any accumulation of landslide debris, thus forewarning the occurrence of major debris flow. This enables relevant government departments to arrange timely emergency evacuation of nearby residents and minimise any possible casualties.

24-hour Year-Round Landslide Emergency Service
Smart Barrier
Building ResilienceExpand

Improving the community resilience against landslide risk

Another important initiative is to raise community resilience against natural disasters such as extreme rainfall and severe landslide events. The Government has been promoting personal precautionary measures under emergency situations. When natural disaster occurs and before the arrival of rescuers, the public may follow pragmatic self-help tips to protect themselves, minimise damages and avoid casualty.

The GEO and the Hong Kong Observatory jointly operate the "Landslip Warning System". By using a statistical model between rainfall intensity and landslide frequency, the number of landslides induced by a rainstorm can be estimated based on real-time rainfall data and rainfall forecasts. Landslip Warning will be issued when necessary to alert the public to take appropriate precautionary measures.

The GEO instils simple yet crucial safety messages into the community through public education, publicity events and public information services, which include:

  1. the public should always remain vigilant about warning and advice issued by the Government during adverse weather;
  2. when Landslip Warning is in force, or during heavy rainfall, the public should stay away from slopes, watch out and report for signs of landslide danger; and
  3. the public must strictly follow the instructions of the rescue personnel and act promptly.

For private slopes, the GEO continues to implement community education programme to promote the importance of slope maintenance in preventing landslides. We have set up a Community Advisory Unit to proactively provide community advisory services to owners and help them fulfil their slope maintenance responsibilities.

Diversified Television Announcements in the Public Interest
Diversified Television Announcements in the Public Interest
Exhibition on Slope Safety at Schools
"Meet-the-Public" Services by the Community Advisory Unit of GEO

為應對在氣候變化下更頻繁極端暴雨所帶來的山泥傾瀉風險,政府持續優化香港的斜坡安全系統,並制定策略,從預防、應變和教育等三方面作出準備,措施包括:

「居安思危」Expand

強化斜坡以抵禦極端暴雨及預防山泥傾瀉

土力工程處推行「長遠防治山泥傾瀉計劃」,適切管理天然山坡和人造斜坡的山泥傾瀉風險。在此計劃下,政府的每年目標為:

  1. 鞏固150個政府人造斜坡;
  2. 為100個私人人造斜坡進行安全篩選研究;及
  3. 為 30 幅天然山坡進行所需的風險緩減工程。

土力工程處亦致力優化現行斜坡工程的設計標準和預防措施,強化斜坡抵禦極端暴雨的能力,減低發生嚴重山泥傾瀉事故的機會。當中的措施包括:

  1. 提升斜坡排水的技術設計要求,並改善斜坡表面的排水系統,以承受更高的降雨量;
  2. 使用泥釘提高斜坡的堅韌性;
  3. 興建混凝土泥石壩和柔性防護網,以阻擋泥石流以減低其對毗鄰設施的影響;
  4. 利用遙控無人機播種技術在天然山坡山泥傾瀉殘痕上再種植被,並研究利用人工智能從航拍照片上自動辨識在天然山坡發生的山泥傾瀉事故,以加強蒐集資料及處理相關山泥傾瀉風險的效率;及
  5. 使用創新科技調節區域地下水位。
改善斜坡表面的排水系統
安裝泥釘
興建混凝土泥石壩
興建柔性防護網
寶珊排水隧道
「掌握先機」Expand

提升緊急應變能力以應對嚴重山泥傾瀉事故

從技術而言,預測氣候變化帶來的影響存在許多不確定因素,因此不能完全倚靠工程方案應對極端暴雨引致山泥傾瀉的風險,提升政府的緊急應變能力亦同樣重要。

土力工程處設有全年廿四小時的緊急服務,以便一旦因山泥傾瀉產生危險時,可派遣土力工程師到現場視察,並就所需的緩解措施或緊急工程向有關部門人員提出建議,以保障公眾安全。此外,政府定期為相關部門舉辦培訓課程及操作演習,確保應急計劃周全有效。處方也引入虛擬實景技術,制定培訓計劃,加強土力工程師處理嚴重山泥傾瀉事故的能力。

政府亦積極利用新科技以加強緊急應變能力。土力工程處現正試驗應用現代資訊科技研發嶄新的山泥傾瀉偵察系統-「智能泥石壩」,以監察泥石壩的狀況。泥石壩一般位於天然河道或山坡中,難以察覺泥石堆積在壩後的情況。「智能泥石壩」系統能夠全天候監測泥石壩的狀況,當發生泥石堆積時,透過流動應用程式即時通知處方,預警可能發生重大泥石流,從而及時通報相關部門,緊急疏散附近居民,以盡量減少人命傷亡。

全年廿四小時的山泥傾瀉緊急服務
智能泥石壩
「防災避險」Expand

加強社區應對山泥傾瀉風險的警覺和知識

應對極端暴雨和山泥傾瀉等自然災害的另一項重要措施是提高社區的警覺和知識。政府一直致力推動在緊急情況下,市民需採取個人防備應對措施。當自然災害發生時,在救援人員到來之前,市民可依據自救錦囊的指引來保護自己,減低損失和避免人命傷亡。

土力工程處與天文台共同運作山泥傾瀉警告系統,根據即時雨量數據及雨量預測,利用一個山泥傾瀉發生頻率和雨量關係模型,計算在一場暴雨可能發生的山泥傾瀉數目,在有需要時發出山泥傾瀉警告,提醒市民採取適當的防備措施。

土力工程處透過公眾教育、定期宣傳活動及資訊服務,向市民大眾傳達簡單而重要的安全指引,包括:

  1. 市民大眾應時刻提高警覺,尤其在惡劣天氣期間要留意政府發出的警告和通告;
  2. 當山泥傾瀉警告生效時或在大雨期間,公眾應遠離斜坡,留意周圍環境,凡有任何山泥傾瀉危險的迹象應立刻報告;及
  3. 市民必須嚴格遵從拯救人員的指示,迅速行動。

至於私人斜坡,土力工程處持續推行社區教育計劃,促使私人業主明白維修斜坡對防止山泥傾瀉的重要性,並設立「社區諮詢服務組」,主動為業主提供外展諮詢服務及意見,以幫助他們履行其斜坡維修責任。

多元化的電視宣傳短片
多元化的電視宣傳短片
在學校舉行斜坡安全展覽
土力工程處社區諮詢服務組的「會見市民」服務